May 19th, 2011 by Robert Franklin, Esq. The Oregon House of Representatives has passed House Bill 2183 by a 37-23 margin. The bill would make accusations of child abuse that are known to be false when made a crime punishable by a fine of up to $720. The bill now moves to the Senate for consideration.
Since the law is aimed at parents who try to gain an advantage in custody cases with false claims of child abuse, fines by criminal courts won’t necessarily affect custody decisions at all. The whole problem with these claims of abuse in custody cases is that family courts fail to require actual proof of them before making their rulings. So the most threadbare claim can effectively separate a father from his child, potentially for life.
The fact that family courts not only act on unproven allegations and effectively place the burden of proof on those accused to prove their innocence is more than just a procedural wrong. It’s a tried-and-true method of cutting fathers off from their children and children off from their fathers.
Now we know at last what the love between a father and his child are worth – up to $720.
That is, to the representatives in Oregon. In the 49 states of the rest of the US? Nothing at all. In the rest of the western world? Probably the same.
So, do not cry, children, you haven’t missed out really that big a deal!
And stop whining, fathers, a breed puppy’s love is more valuable than yours!